Short note

July 29, 2009 at 12:23 pm 3 comments

I haven’t been posting much, in part because I haven’t been enjoying food much this month.

I seem to have aquired a minor, lingering, hopefully temporary sinus problem that has almost robbed me of my sense of smell. Seriously: I can’t even smell the cat box, or the morning coffee.

What we experience as flavor is as much a matter of our noses as our tongues.  For the last two weeks, I’ve only been experiencing flavor through my tastebuds, which reduces everything to sweet, salty, bitter, and sour.

This, at a time of year when all the really great local produce is coming to market: Fat, juicy peaches, more tomatoes each week, the first of the sweet corn. …  I tell ya, it’s killing me.

I’m still shopping at the farmers’ markets and I’m still eating this great food – because I know it’s good for me and good for local farmers to do that. But I can’t say I’m enjoying it much, except on an abstract, “oh, isn’t this head of cauliflower pretty” sort of way. And I’m certainly not experimenting with new recipes, because how could I tell if they turn out well?

I hope you’re lucky enough to be able to really enjoy the harvest bounty. Tell me what you’re buying and making – I could use some vicarious appetite right now.

Entry filed under: eating locally, farmers' market.

It’s hot … It’s been a rough summer

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. taffy88  |  July 29, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I’m sorry about your darned sinus problem. Maybe when this nasty heat clears up, your sinuses will as well. I do have a yummy summer salad recipe to share. It actually calls for two packages of 10 oz. frozen whole kernel corn. But I think it would taste much better with fresh corn! I’m not sure what the equivalent would be, but probably several cups of corn kernels. You then add a medium tomato, chopped; 1/3 cup of red onion; two tablespoons of fresh basil, chopped, and a dressing that consists of two tablespoons of mayonnaise and two tablespoons of lime juice. That didn’t sound like enough to me…but it was just right (the mayo and lime juice). Another time I might add some chopped red pepper and a little more lime juice (just because I love lime!). This was actually a Best Foods recipe and they called it Light Summer Corn Salad. It was really quite nice. I hope you heal fast. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. taffy88  |  July 29, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Ack! Sorry. I meant to say that the onion should be finely chopped. Probably the pepper, too, if you choose to use it. I also wondered how some olive slices would taste, but haven’t tried that, yet.

    Reply
  • 3. marketcook  |  July 29, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Wow, Susan, that sounds fabulous. Me, I’d probably use fresh jalapenos, because I rock that way. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Feeds


