Off my feed

July 16, 2008 at 7:41 pm 3 comments

Blueberries

Mmmm, blueberries

It happens every summer, and at the most inconvenient time: When we hit the prolonged hot weather, I lose my appetite. Or at least my appetite for anything resembling cooking and eating actual meals.

That doesn’t mean I’m slacking on the Eat Local Challenge, though. Not now, when the variety of good things at market and farmstands increases almost by the day. It just means I buy things that can be eaten as is, or very simply prepared.

So far this week, for instance, I’ve had the following “meals,” all tasty and satisfying, but hardly worth photographing or writing down:

  • Scrambled duck eggs with red chard, smoked Oregon chinook and paper-thin slices of leek
  • More chard, coarsely chopped, steamed, and dressed with a dab of butter and a splash of sherry vinegar
  • Blueberries, just rinsed and eaten by the handful for breakfast or snacks.
  • A big salad of red leaf lettuce, still more chard (what can I say? I love chard, and I bought a big bunch of it at the market last Saturday), and baby spinach from a neighbor’s garden, tossed with a simple vinaigrette that included what are probably the last of the raspberries from my garden and a little home-grown basil.
  • A sort of rudimentary blueberry cobbler: Squares of poundcake (from Kristen’s bakery stand at the farmers market) tossed with blueberries and a teaspoon of sugar mixed with cinnamon, warmed in the oven just until the sugar began to caramelize, and topped with a scoop of Tillamook vanilla ice cream. As dinner, not dessert.
  • A Safeway bagel, topped with leaf lettuce, more of that smoked salmon, a little onion and Rogue Creamery’s Oregonzola blue cheese

Other than the condiments, that’s half a dozen meals of local or almost-local food, with hardly any effort at all. A light menu, to be sure, but I don’t move around much when it’s hot, so I don’t need much fuel.

How about you? What do you eat when it’s too hot to cook? If you’re trying the eat-local thing, is it working for you? What are the challenges?

Entry filed under: challenge, eating locally, summer. Tags: , , .

Hot cherries Beets and carrots and herbs, oh my

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lovemyfood  |  July 23, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Just stumbled upon your blog….Here is what I eat when its too hot to cook:
    http://lovemyfood.wordpress.com/2008/07/21/more-light-lunch-and-dinner-ideas/

    Cheers,
    Anna 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. marketcook  |  July 23, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Hi, Anna, and welcome!

    Your light meals sound a lot like mine, but this summer I’m making a concerted effort to buy and eat locally produced food, not to the exclusion of everything else (they’ll have to pry my coffee and chocolate from my cold, dead hands!), but as the main part of my diet.

    So I’m steering clear of imported cured meats, but we’re lucky enough to have an excellent local sausage-maker, and I’ve made some tasty cold suppers from sausage and raw local veggies.

    Reply
  • 3. lovemyfood  |  July 24, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Actually, except for the cheese and pineapple all are local products.
    I live in BC so pineapples are not exactly a local plant 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts

Feeds


